A Tiger for Malgudi

April 8, 2009

I haven’t been neglecting my promise of new features. Some of them are dependent on the cooperation of a friend of mine, and the party in question at the moment is in the middle of moving. And – you may gasp at this – but taking care of something like that takes a wee smidge of precedence over my blog. Rest assured, however, I’m not planning on leaving anyone in the lurch. You’ll just have to wait. New features don’t come easy…it’s a game of give and take.

Enough channeling my inner Supreme. There’s a review to be written.

———

Review

As much as I am loathe to admit it, R.K. Narayan’s A Tiger for Malgudi is the second book I had to look at sadly as it bawled helplessly on my futon while I pat it on the back cover and once again had to explain, “Look. It’s not you, baby. You did everything right. It’s just not working for me anymore.” Narayan writes with a beautiful, flowing prose and a philosophical premise exploring the inner life of a tiger wrenched from his jungle home and forced into human servitude. A Tiger for Malgudi is a visceral, emotional work that holds a mirror up to animal exploitation and the extent of human cruelty without coming off as preachy or self-righteous. Rather, the nameless feline narrator serves more as a reflection of mankind’s capacity to universally inflict pain on one another as well as animals.

In spite of the heavy-handedness of the subject matter, A Tiger for Malgudi plays host to the occasional instance of dark humor and absurdity. The narrator – foisted with the name Raja by his captives – recounts his life as a denizen of the Indian jungle and subsequent captive stints as a circus act and a film star. Both experiences leave him scarred and cynical, but things end calmly for the tiger “who possesses a soul within [his] forbidding exterior” (11). It’s a nice little tale of redemption and self-awareness, just one where I – again – had difficulty connecting. Narayan is a fine writer, and A Tiger for Malgudi is a fine book with many interesting themes and visuals. Perhaps it was the near-glacial pacing that turned me away, though for a work of philosophy one ought not expect a breezy clip. I’ve enjoyed much slower books than this. So disengagement is more or less my fault once again.

Bibliographic Information

Narayan, R.K. A Tiger for Malgudi. New York: Penguin Classics, 1994.

Further Reading

Another good book involving a self-aware, philosophical animal as its protagonist – albeit not as the narrator – is Daniel Quinn’s Ishmael: An Adventure in Mind and Spirit. It’s been a long while since I last read it, but what little I’ve remembered was positive and got dredged up as I poured through A Tiger for Malgudi.

~Riot

[Diversity Rocks! Challenge Progress: 9/24]

6 Responses to “A Tiger for Malgudi”

  1. jennysbooks Says:

    “Heavy-handed” always drives me crazy. No matter how much I agree with the stance a book is taking, I can’t enjoy it if they’re laying it on with a trowel.

  2. Riot Says:

    I guess it depends on how it’s done for me. Didn’t mind A Tiger for Malgudi so much, though I think that aspect of the story combined with my extreme levels of exhaustion recently probably led to my inability to fully connect.

  3. Ali Says:

    I’ve always had a hard time connecting with animal protagonists. Even as a kid, I tended to avoid those books–sometimes missing out on some great ones (The Wind in the Willows was one of my favorites to read aloud with my kids, for example).

  4. Riot Says:

    Ali, you sound kind of like my dad. A lot of people have difficulty connecting with animal protagonists, which makes perfect sense. They’re animals, so it’d be easy to dismiss them as knowing nothing of the human condition. But there’s definitely some books out there that challenge this perspective – Wind in the Willows like you suggested, Animal Farm, and Ishmael all spring to mind first. I haven’t read Watership Down yet, but apparently that one ranks up there as well.

  5. jeffy Says:

    it is really very bad….

  6. jeffy Says:

    a very bad story….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

